Sweet Olive (Book Review)

sweet olive cover

If you’ve followed my blog for long, know me in person or are friends with me on Facebook then you will not be at all surprised to learn that I like to read. I love spend my free time immersed in a good book. My Kindle and bookshelves are full of books I have yet to read because I am always getting distracted by one book or another. What you may not know about me, though, is that while I love to read all kinds of different genres, I am a sucker for a romance novel. I think it’s probably because I know in the end the guy and girl who are meant to be together will be together and it’s entertaining and enjoyable to follow the couple as they navigate secrets or misunderstandings until they come to the point where they realize they are meant for each other. Sweet Olive by Judy Christie is a romance novel that takes a little too long to get there, though.

Camille Gardner is the best there is at her job. She has worked for her uncle for years going in and talking land and drilling rights with land owners for J&S Oil. Her job takes her out on the road constantly and she is ready for an office job and a place to call home. When her uncle calls her in for one last job in the small artist community of Sweet Olive, Louisiana, Camille is not expecting to be drawn by the area and the artists who make up the small community, including Marsh Cameron, the attorney for the artists.

From the very beginning of this book I did not like how Camille let her uncle manipulate her. It was hard to have sympathy for the main character when you just wanted her to grow a backbone and stand up to her uncle. The first half of the book was a little slow and cumbersome and it didn’t really start to kick into gear until about the halfway point. It is definitely chick lit romance and you know what’s coming in the end and can even make a pretty good guess as to how everything will come about.

****Zondervan Publishing and Booksneeze provided me with a free eCopy of this book in exchange for an honest and fair review. I was not compensated in any way for either a negative or a positive review.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

