Pretty Typical Chick-Lit

secretly smitten book cover

Before I begin this review, let me get something off my chest. There is not such a place as Smitten, Vermont where God-following, good Christian men age 25 and up are in abundance. As a 40-year-old single woman, I have to say that if this place really existed, the women would once again outnumber the men greatly. BUT, because I am a 40-year-old single woman, I will keep picking up books like Secretly Smitten and continue holding out hope that there is such a man and such a place and that maybe, just maybe, one day I will find this place.

Secretly Smitten is a follow-up book to Smitten (reviewed previously on this site). It is four stories, each written by a different author. Colleen Coble, Kristin Billerbeck, Diann Hunt and Denise Hunter each focus on one character in the Thomas family (four single women) and sharing their stories of finding love and growing in their faith in God. They also do a fairly good job of weaving a couple of plot points through each of the four stories. There was only one point in the entire book where I felt like the plot was being inserted just to fit it into the story. Each story is about 10 chapters so the reading flies by. While I’ve read the previous book, I did not remember the characters very well. In fact, the characters I remembered most from the previous books were the older, single ladies who played music in the town square.

If you are still looking for your happily-ever-after or if you are just looking for a light chick-lit read with some uplifting values, Secretly Smitten will be a good fit. If you are looking for something with deep spiritual meaning, this book will not deliver.

****Thomas Nelson Publishing provided me with a free e-copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not compensated for this review in any other way.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Pretty Typical Chick-Lit

  1. I enjoyed reading your review, this book is definitly on my to be read list. =) Thanks!

Leave a Reply

