Who am I

At the beginning of our small group study last night, each of us was given a piece of paper that read, “I am ___________.” Our task was to fill in that blank using no more than three words. This was an easy assignment for some but a few of us struggled with it.

We then watched a short video that really got me thinking. In the video, the question that was asked was, “What defines you?”

It seems like today when you meet someone for the first time, one of the initial questions asked is “What do you do?” or “Where do you work?” We are trying to gain a little insight into that person based on the answer to that question.

Sometimes we don’t want to know (or share) what defines us. There may be a part of me that I am ashamed to share with others. Or I may be comparing myself to someone else and I feel like I just won’t ever be that good, that talented, that spiritual, etc.

But, the trusth is, it is both the good and the bad things in my life that define me. Both my triumphs and my trials have brought me to who I am today. And until I am OK with that, with sharing those things I’m proud of as well as those things that have broguht me pain, I will not be able to truly define who I am. I will not be one hundred percent OK with who I am.

So, today:

I am a child of God.

I am a sinner.

I am saved.

I am a mistake maker.

I am content.

I am pressing on.

I am learning from my past.

I am loved.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Who am I

  1. Nice post! I think I’m in the same boat with you on this…I’m working on being OK with who I am, the all of me, and especially the pieces that are only a part of me that I tend to see as all of me (do I make sense.)

Leave a comment